Odetunde nominated for ENI Award

Post on 18 May 2017

A Professor of Aeronautic and Astronautic Engineering from Kwara State University, Malete, Professor Christopher Bode Odetunde, has been nominated for the prestigious 2017 Eni award.

The Eni Award is a prize awarded by an Italian oil and gas company, Eni, with the aim of encouraging better use of energy sources and increased environmental research.

Dubbed the “Nobel prize of energy research“, the Eni award is aimed at promoting research and technological   innovation in energy and the environment.

Professor Christopher Odetunde, in collaboration with Dr. Edword Osakue and Dr. Lucky Aneton, was selected as a team of finalists for the 2017 Eni award based on their article. By this nomination, they have been elected for consideration for the two hundred thousand Euros prize and also a special recognition for their research activities in the field of energy.

Professor Christopher Odetunde was the former Head of Department of Aeronautic and Astronautic Engineering at KWASU. A graduate of Texas A&M University College, Slatin and Southeastern Institute of Technology Huntsville, Alabama, Professor Odetunde prior to joining KWASU was a lecturer at Texas Southern University, Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife, Geo-Technology Inc, Odessa Texas, and Odessa Community College, Odessa, Texas.

He also served at Teledyne Brown Engineering (TBE), Huntville, Alabama, and Embry – Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona – Beach, Florida.

Honours which he has received include Best Engineering Adjunct Professor of the year for Excellence in Teaching and Exceptional Concern for Students at Odessa College; and, Award for Outstanding Leadership in the College of Science and Technology, Texas Southern University,

He is a registered engineer with the Council of Registered Engineers in Nigeria, COREN. He is also a member of the American Society of Engineers; Reviewer Experiments Fluid Journal since 2005; and, member American Institute of Aeronautic and Astronautic society (AIAA) since 1978.

His field of interest includes computational mathematics, structures, aerodynamics, vibration, aviation management, computational fluid dynamics/aerodynamics, low high speed aerodynamics and hypersonic aerodynamic flow among others.