Faculty History

About the Faculty

The faculty of Agriculture, Kwara State University, Malete, is as old as the University itself. It was established as one of the foundation Colleges of the University at the inception of the University in November 2009. The faculty which started with 7 lecturers and 16 students had Professor Funsho Oluleye as the Pioneer Provost of the faculty.

The faculty has a broad based programme leading to the award of the Bachelor of Agriculture (B. Agric.) degree with specialization in the final year in any of the following options: Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, Agricultural Extension and Rural Development, Crop Production & Crop Protection and Animal Production. The College also offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Food Science and Technology. In essence, there are four distinct Departments domiciled in the College of Agriculture viz: Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension Services, Department of Animal Production, Department of Crop Production and Department of Food Science and Technology. The Department of Food Science and Technology started in the College of Engineering and Technology as a part of the Department of Food, Agriculture and Bio-Engineering (FAB) in 2011 and recently separated from FAB and transferred to the College of Agriculture. Currently, there are about 35 staff and over 450 students in the College spread across the four Departments.

Both the B. Agriculture degree and B. Sc. (Food Science and Technology) degree have been accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC). Also, at postgraduate level, both the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, Agricultural Extension and Rural Development, Crop Production and Animal Production have been approved by the NUC and there are about 10 students on postgraduate programmes across these Departments presently.

The Faculty has a Teaching and Research farm sitting on about 100 hectares of land that serves as field laboratory for students’ training, staff research and demonstration for farmers. Beyond teaching and research, the faculty is also very committed to service to the community, in tandem with the slogan of the KWASU – ‘University for Community Development’. In this regards, the faculty recently flagged off ‘Operation feed yourself programme’, where acreage of lands, on the Teaching and Research farm, are allocated to interested individuals both within the University and nearby communities hosting the University to cultivate arable crop of their choice in order to contribute to food production, sufficiency and availability in Kwara State. The Vice-Chancellor officially launched the programme recently. Similar to this is the ‘Back to farm’ initiative, whereby every student of KWASU, regardless of their discipline, are made to mandatorily partake in common agricultural enterprise, like maize cropping. Similarly, the faculty has collaboration and linkages with national research institutes and agricultural development agencies like the Lower River Niger Basin Development Authority (LRNBDA), Agricultural Research and Management Training Institute (ARMTI), International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), the Ministry of Agriculture, amongst others.

Find below staff details, including qualifications, specialization, selected publications, amongst others across the four Departments of the faculty.